Should I admit this?

Not sure if I should admit this one…but, here it goes.  We need a light-hearted post, right??

First of all, let me say, I am a reader.  I love to read.  Whether it is a wonderful book, or my favorite blog, if I could choose what to do with my “free-time,” it would be read (it seems like I don’t get much of a choice these days :).  Besides Francine Rivers books, I don’t read a lot of fiction.  This sounds really dumb and kind of arrogant, but, I’ve always secretly felt like fiction books were a waste of time.  That’s terrible, huh? I just feel a little guilty reading for pleasure if I am not gaining any knowledge. 

Well, 2 weeks ago, Zach and I were hanging out at my friend Brandi’s house.  We were in the kitchen when I looked over to her book shelf and saw a series of books.  I proceeded to laugh-out-loud and  dog her for reading books about vampires. Zach jumped in and we let her have it :) She tried defending herself, but she wasn’t getting too far! She then dared me to read the first chapter.  She said if I read the first chapter, I would be done with the entire series within a week.  I told her she was crazy. Well…she was right! Within the next 7 days, I read over 2,400 pages of a vampire love story. Nice.

I am officially sold on the twilight series. And I vow to never make-fun of vampire-lovers again. 

And thanks to a simple conversation with my friend Beth, I am now going indulge myself with lots of fiction.  You see, I read a lot about poverty and orphans, and everything else wrong with the world today…and I just need a strong dose of non-reality.  So…I have started the twilight series all over again (sorry Brandi, you may never get your books back :).

And just for laughs, I have to share a quick story with you.  Izzie was at Brandi’s yesterday while Zach and I were in a meeting.  Izzie looked at her friend Blakey and said, “do you like vampires? My daddy is a vampire!” I guess I should stop calling Zach, “my vampire” before people get the wrong impression.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Should I admit this?

  1. Brandie says:

    Who’s the freak now?! :)
    I told you so…

  2. Beth says:

    Hey! Don’t blame this kick on me. I take no responsibility for your decline into the world of fiction. lol

    Love you!
    Beth

  3. jacki says:

    I have been dreaming about Edward, when I am not dreaming about the Haitians…. If I get Leanne the series of books for Christmas… I may have to read them first. The only problem is I read in the bathtub so she will know they are”used”. Get over it Leanne!

  4. David says:

    Don’t think that you don’t learn from fiction. While the intricacies of Klingon verb tense, the geography of the Shire or details vampire lore are probably not going to be needed for an academic test, many authors do considerable research into ‘real world’ activities that are a backdrop to their fictional accounts. So… you may actually learn something about accounting, engineering, technology or who knows what while reading about vampires.

    The best part…? You will likely relate something that you learned from one of these books to someone one day and not even remember where you learned it.

Leave a Reply

