Obsession?

It has happened slowly, but I have realized that my husband may have an obsession.

Zach is a genius and his genius-ness (not a word, I know), can be really funny sometimes.  Izzie had surgery a couple of weeks ago, so I was staying home with her while Zach took all the other kiddos to church.  While she was coloring, I decided it would be smart to clean a little bit.  But, I got distracted when I kept noticing things around the house…

Like this in my kitchenIMG_3735And this in my laundry room cubby?? SeriouslyIMG_3739And then I found one on my dresserIMG_3744Not to mention these, I see everyday…IMG_3736IMG_3740The computer shown below does not have a screen, but I know it does something?!? How I know?? It has a flashing light :)IMG_3877And this one he found in the donate pile of the shed…IMG_3745Did you know that xbox’s are computers too? I didn’t know that until he has magically turned ours into a home-made tivo.IMG_3741It is somehow hooked up to this computer in our bedroom, so we can watch the “TIVO” upstairs too.IMG_3742If you lost count, we are up to 9.  He loves to “save” people’s old computers and bring them back to life.  He had all these computers out at once because he was using them to put all of DVD’s onto our TIVO thingy. That way, not only could we watch recorded TV programs (with all our free-time :), we can also watch any movie we want, at anytime in anyplace.  Fun, huh?? Movies like, Sleepless in Seattle, Pride and Prejudice and the Little Mermaid.

Zach and I are on a pretty strict budget.  We each get (don’t laugh) $35 a month in “fun” money.  This is money we can use anyway we want.  My money is usually gone by the second day of the month, but Zach RARELY spends his.  I think he is up to a couple hundred.  I asked him about a month ago what he was saving for and he said, “I’m not sure. Maybe a computer.”  :) This smarty pants makes me smile so much.  I really could not love him more.

Now, to be fair, I should show you pictures of all my jackets…my obsession with jackets is sooooo much worse than his obsession with computers!

And, just so you know, I had permission to write this post – He actually thought it was pretty funny :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Obsession?

  1. Kim Perkins says:

    I am laughing out loud!!! Somehow, I already new about this little ‘problem’ he has:) And now Mike is thinking about Zach’s ‘problem’ as in yesterday when we were voting for Steven as area “athlete of the week” and Mike said, ” I know ZACH can figure out a way for our computer to just keep voting over and over again for Steven. And sure ‘nough………. :)

  2. Kim Perkins says:

    By the way, I like this ‘fun money’ idea. What do you spend YOURS on?

  3. metaphase says:

    Ash and I marvel at Zach’s computer prowess. I’m pretty sure we’re jealous more than anything else!

  4. leanne says:

    he is an original that is for sure!!!!

  5. jacki says:

    I have no idea why my post about Zach’s originality showed up on Leannes name….. figure is out computer genius :)

  6. Beth says:

    I am laughing because we have allotted ourselves the same budget. =0)

    Beth

  7. Bethany says:

    Zach built an MP3 player from leftover parts at MIT before I even knew what an MP3 – or an iPod – was!! The hard drive sat under the seat and the playlists were like numbers, e.g., *87. No title display, etc. It was amazing – even though we didn’t know what he was doing! :)

  8. David Stevens says:

    I have the dead computer habit but have curbed mine recently. There was a time when I couldn’t go to a local shop without leaving with something from their used parts corner. I’d gather up pieces until I had enough parts to put one together. Up until a few months ago, I still had my very first computer. It was pretty hard to part with, but I still have a few ‘treasures’. ;0

Leave a Reply

