What I want to be when I grow up

Today at school the 4k classes are dressing up. Each child was asked to think about what he or she wanted to be when they grow up. Trey decided he wanted to be an Auburn football player, so he is wearing an Auburn uniform today (I wish I had taken a picture before they got on the bus!). Izzie was a little indecisive on deciding her future career.

Last week she and I started a long discussion about this topic. It went a little something like this…

Mom: “Izzie, what do you want to be when you grow up?”

Iz: “I don’t know??”

Mom: “What about a Doctor? Or a missionary in China??”

Iz: “Umm….nah.”

Mom: “So, you have no ideas on what you might want to do?”

Iz: “I want to be a ballerina.”

Mom: “Well, that’s cool, what do you think you ought to do to reach that goal?”

Iz: ….totally uninterested.

Fast forward to this past Monday when I am trying to get Izzie ready for ballet.

Iz: “I don’t want to go to ballet!”

Mom: “You have to go to ballet!”

Iz: “I don’t even like ballet!”

Mom: “How are you going to be a professional ballerina when you don’t like ballet and you don’t want to go to class??”

Iz: “I don’t want to be a ballerina!”

Mom: “Okay, what do you want to be??”

Iz: “I just want to be a mom!!”

Mom: Heart soaring….smiling….lost in thought thinking about this or the time Izzie drew a picture of herself with her adopted daughter from China…

Coming back to reality…Mom: “Well, let’s start thinking about what you can wear to school Wednesday for the dress-up day. What do you think you should wear that moms wear??”

Iz: “ummmmmm, I don’t know. Maybe dirty clothes like you wear everyday.”

My soaring heart went to epic fail in 2.5 seconds. My daughter thinks I wear dirty clothes everyday!! Out of the mouth of babes…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I want to be when I grow up

  1. Rebecca says:

    HAHAH!!! I love her!!

  2. GG says:

    But you look so good in your dirty clothes :-)

  3. Kelli K says:

    Oh, that made me laugh out loud! Out of the mouths of babes…

  4. Amber says:

    hahahahahaha!!! Love that girl!!!

Leave a Reply

