Bonhoeffer

I have always been intrigued by the story of Dietrich Bonhoeffer. When I saw his biography available for an extremely low price, I bought it right away. So, for about 6 months now, I have been reading, “Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy” written by Eric Metaxes. Maybe in another 6 months, I will finish this great read. Once I start a book, I typically finish it fairly quickly…but, the details of this book are thick, so I’ve been moving pretty slow. I can’t really put my finger on why it is taking me so long, I do thoroughly enjoy the details. Maybe it’s because this is the first biography I have read as an adult, so this type of writing is new to me. Who knows.

Anyway, I am reading it on the kindle and have completed 38% (page 274 is only 38%….might be the longest book I have read). When you go to my notes and bookmarks, I have completely marked up this book. Today I read a quote that made me stop and reflect.

While in Prison, Bonhoeffer wrote this to a good friend:

“I wonder why it is that we find some days so much more oppressive than others, for no apparent reason. Is it growing pains – or spiritual trial? Once they’re over, the world looks quite a different place.”

Even though I have never been imprisoned or experienced the grand trails this great man experienced – I find myself relating to this quote. I really don’t have anything to add, I just wanted to share.  Looking forward to seeing if this questioned is answered in this book.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

