Mother’s Day

You know, that day coming up when we shower our moms with love and affection. Zach cannot stand these types of “holidays.” He has said since the day we got married, “These days were created to make greeting card companies rich.” I just told him he was cynical. I have heard other friends say these holidays frustrate them because we should all show our love and appreciation every day, not just one day a year.

I believe I am to the point where I do not like mother’s day…but, I dislike it for other reasons.

A few weeks ago when I saw the first sign advertising this coming event, I started to sweat. Seriously. I got all anxious and nervous. Even as I type these words I feel my blood pressure rising. I like to understand my emotions…so, I immediately went in overdrive trying to figure out why I was so stressed! I have a wonderful Mother. I have a wonderful Mother-in-law. So, what is the issue?

Several years ago, on mother’s day, our pastor back home prayed for all the ladies in our congregation who longed to be mothers. As I sat there with a perfect infant in my arms, my heart broke for these ladies. My heart still breaks for them, but it doesn’t stop there. I think about all the people who have hearts breaking as this day approaches…

  • Those who long to pick up the phone and call their mother, but their mom is now gone
  • Those mother’s who have children waiting for them in heaven
  • Those mother’s who had to make the hardest decision of their lives when they decided their child should be raised by someone other than themselves
  • Those mothers who have made mistakes and because of those mistakes, their children were placed elsewhere
  • The ladies who long to not spend another mother’s day without a child in their arms
  • All the children who long to have a mother to celebrate on this day…

We live in such a broken world.

My stress is coming from not knowing how to celebrate such amazing blessings in my life (the privilege of being “mom” to so many, the gift of having 2 wonderful moms in my life…), while also feeling sadness for those who will be hurting on this day. Please join with me in spending the rest of the week praying for all of those who are dreading this upcoming celebration. Pray they will turn their burdens and sorrow over to the Lord…He is the one who says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble on your heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For me yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30. So thankful to have such a loving Father.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. Jackie says:

    Coming from where you are I can understand why it is hard to face occasions such as these, You are doing an amazing women doing an amazing job being a daughter, mother. and wife. So, what am I getting for mothers day :-)

  2. Jackie says:

    take out the first doing please I need to start proof reading before sending obviously….

  3. Anne says:

    Oh… sweet friend… I know! Thank you for direction in prayer over the many hearts aching and breaking during this time of year.

  4. grandma J says:

    Like you, I have also thought these thoughts but never expressed them so well. It is a good thing to recognize mothers who have sacrificed for their children, but for many women, this is a hard occasion. For me since both of my mothers are now deceased, I regret that I wasn’t the daughter I could have been for my mothers. I am very grateful, however, that God has blessed me with an amazing daughter and wonderful sons who wisely chose their wives- my precious daughter-in-laws!

Leave a Reply

